Friday, May 19, 2006

WCF Architecture

WCF architecture consists of 4 main sections

I have talk about Contracts in one of my previous entry. Let’s examine the other parts of this framework

Service Runtime

The service runtime layer contains the behaviors that occur only during the actual operation of the service, that is, the runtime behaviors of the service. E.g. Instancing, throttling, error handling etc.


The messaging layer shows the formats and exchange patterns of the data. WS Security enables security at the message layer while WS Reliable Messaging channel enables the guarantee of message delivery. The encoders present a range of encodings that can be used to suit the needs of the message.

Activation and Hosting

This is the part where service is started by analyzing its activation options. Services can be either self-hosted or hosted in the context of another application.

No comments: